Anchorage Driver Training LLC


New Driver Package


Our new driver package includes 8 hours Driver Improvement Classroom and 8 hours Behind the Wheel Training one-on-one with a State Certified Instructor.  An abbreviated Winter Skid Control program will be included in the 16-hour course during the winter months as weather permits at no additional charge.   The State Road Exam for a Class D License may be given on the last day of behind the wheel training if:

1) the student meets the State's requirements

2) a Road Exam has been purchased and

3) the test has been approved by the parent or guardian if  the student is under the age of 18. 


Behind the Wheel Instruction:

Our behind the wheel training covers defensive traffic maneuvers, teaching the student how to drive from point A to point B smoothly and efficiently, while assuring that they have a space-cushion around them and an escape route at all times.  Some items covered:

    • Introduction to vehicle
    • Starting and stopping, fast and slow
    • Right turns, left turns
    • Changing lanes
    • Entering and Exiting freeways
    • City driving
    • Country driving
    • Parallel Parking
    • Backing straight and around corners

Defensive Driving Classroom:


The driver improvement class  includes the most up-to-date information we have from the current Alaska Criminal & Traffic Laws and the Anchorage Municipal Code “Title 9” to make you aware of the many changes that effect our day to day driving in the State of Alaska.  We have two certified instructors that teach our Nationally Certified Driver Improvement Class.



    State Road Exam:

     Anchorage Driver Training LLC is State Certified to give the Alaska State Road Exam for a Class D (automobile or light pickup) driver’s license. The applicant must be at least 16 years of age and held a valid permit for 6 months if they are under the age of 18.  Payment of $50.00 for the Road Exam must be made in advance and is non-refundable.


     Applicants under 18 years of age must be accompanied by a parent, or have a parental consent form signed and notarized.  After passing the road exam, the applicant and parent (or consent form) must go to DMV to obtain the license. The State will charge a fee for the license.

Winter Driving and

Skid Prevention & Control

Our Winter Driving Program consists of 2 hours behind the wheel training one-on-one with a State Certified professional instructor. The following outline lists some items covered behind the wheel during the program:

  • Three types of stops
  • Proper turning speeds 
  • Explanation of skids 
  • Recovering from a skid
  • Anti Locking brakes
  • "Evasive skid" (blocked lane maneuver)
  • Starting on a hill on ice